Message sent from:

Our Governors

Broadgate School has a Governing Body which meets at regular intervals.   No members of the Governing Body hold governance roles in other schools.

Should you wish to contact the Chair of Governors, Mr Akal, please ask Mrs Parker at Reception for his contact details.

The names of the Governors are as follows:

Name Date of Appointment Term of Office ends Category Relevant Business Interests
 Mrs Elaine McLellan - Headteacher  01/09/2010    Headteacher  None
 Mr Andrew Akal - Chair  09/03/2015  09/03/2019  Co-opted  None
 Mrs Sally Wheeler - Vice Chair  11/07/2016  10/07/2020  Parent Representative  None
 Ms Liz Thornton - Clerk  01/04/2016    Clerk  None
 Mrs Patricia Head  01/10/2014   01/10/2022   Co-opted  None
 Mrs Emma Lyne  01/10/2014   01/10/2022  Co-opted  None 
 Ms Susy Rhodes  30/11/2015  29/11/2019  Parent Representative  None
 Mrs Helen Turner  01/09/2017  01/09/2021  Co-opted  None
 Mrs Carolyn Tyrrell  04/12/2017  04/12/2021  Staff Representative  None
 Mr Jonathan Cain  03/12/2018  03/12/2022  Co-opted   None
 Mr Chris Strowbridge  03/10/2018  03/10/2022  Co-opted  None
 Mrs Barbara Amponsah  04/12/2017  04/12/2021  Parent Representative  None
 Mrs Stacey Lalande  03/12/2018  03/12/2022  Parent Representative  None
 Mr John Garvani  03/10/2018  03/10/2022  Local Authority   Representative None


Teaching and Learning Sub-Committee

Meets once per term. Five governor members with occasional attendance by staff members where appropriate.

Chair - Helen Turner, Vice-Chair - TBC

Resources Sub-Committee

Meets once per term or when necessary. Five governor members and also attended by the School Business Manager. Delegated responsibility to agree the school budget, also provide a panel for pay appeal hearings if necessary.

Chair - Andrew Akal,  Vice-Chair - Susy Rhodes

Pupil Support Sub-Committee

Meets once per term or when necessary. Four governor members.

Chair - Sarah Qualtrough, Vice-Chair - Pat Head

Staffing Sub-Committee

Meets as and when necessary (usually for recruitment purposes and pay decisions). Five governor members.

Chair - Andrew Akal

Headteacher Performance Management Committee

Meets twice per year. Three governor members.

Chair - Andrew Akal, Vice-Chair - Sally Wheeler

Governors with Specific Responsibilities



Child Protection and Safeguarding

Health and Safety

Looked after Children

Special Educational Needs (SEN)

Pupil Premium (PP)

Sports Funding

School Improvement Advisor (SIA) School Visits

Educational Visits

Out of School Club

Children's Centre

Andrew Akal

Jonathan Cain

Pat Head

Andrew Akal

Pat Head

Barbara Amponsah

Sally Wheeler

Helen Turner (TBC)

Andrew Akal

Barbara Amponsah

Helen Turner

Emma Lyne

Governors Linked to Cohorts

Nursery - Pat Head

Reception - Barbara Amponsah

Y1 - John Garvani

Y2 - Emma Lyne

Y3 - Helen Turner

Y4 - Chris Strowbridge

Y5 - Susy Rhodes

Y6 - Sally Wheeler

Attendance Record (2017-2019)

  FGB 04/12/2017 FGB 12/03/2018 FGB 09/07/2018 FGB 08/10/2018 FGB 03/12/2018
Elaine McLellan Y Y Y Y Y
Sally Wheeler Y Y Y Y Y
Susy Rhodes Y Y Y Y Y
Emma Lyne A Y A Y A
Patricia Head Y Y Y Y Y
Andrew Akal A Y Y Y Y
Carolyn Tyrrell Y Y Y Y A
Helen Turner A Y Y A A
Dora Hallsworth Y Y A X X
Nick Latttimer Y Y A Y Y
Sarah Qualtrough Y Y Y Y Y
Barbara Amponsah Y Y Y Y A
John Garvani X X X Y Y
Chris Strowbridge X X X Y Y
Stacey Lalande X X X X Y
Jonathan Cain X X X X Y


Hit enter to search